top of page

Holy Whole Wheat


I'll be the first to say that I despise healthy desserts. I want fat, I want sugar, I want chocolate and I want a LOT of it. Don't feed me this wishy-washy "light" crap or proudly tell me that the brownies are made with sweet potatoes and black beans. Barf me to death. Brownies should have exactly zero vegetable matter in them.

"If it looks like a salad and it smells like a salad there's a good chance it's still a vegan chocolate chip cookie."

-- a tweet I favorited a long time ago and just spent 30 minutes searching for so I could accurately credit the author why yes I was a journalism major thanks for asking

Given this hatred for all things healthy when they should be sugary, you'll be surprised to hear me sing the praises of whole wheat pancakes. SERIOUSLY THEY ARE SOOO GOOOOOOOOD. The whole wheat flavor actually makes them sweeter somehow and they pair perfectly with all this gorgeous summer produce we are currently swimming in. Blueberries? Check. Raspberries? CHECK. Bananas? Check, but playing it a little safe.

Additionally, because they're whole grain you don't get such a nasty carb crash like from white flour pancakes. Therefore, you can eat approximately 30% more pancakes without worry/guilt and this can only be a good thing.

This is a family recipe for pancakes and do not question it because these are the fluffiest mother-effin pancakes you could ever hope to eat. This recipe also makes kind of a lot of batter so if you have leftover just freeze it and save it for another day (just defrost it in the fridge overnight. Whammy!).

Ingredients:

1 egg

1 c. whole wheat flour

1/2 c. plain yogurt

1/3 c. milk

2 tbs. vegetable oil

1 tbs. sugar

3 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

1 c. blueberries or 1 banana, sliced or what have you

Directions:

1. Mix all the wet ingredients together in a small bowl.

2. Sift the flour and the other dry ingredients in a larger bowl. Combine the wet and dry ingredients and fruit and whisk only until no flour is visible.

3. Heat a large pan or skillet over medium heat, grease liberally. Cook about 1/4 c. of batter at at time. Do not attempt to flip until you see bubbles around the edges of the pancake.

4. Keep warm in the oven at 200F or serve immediately.

Featured Posts
bottom of page