top of page

Living La Vida Mocha


I never skip breakfast unless I'm really sick. I'm one of those people that is starving as soon as they wake up (hey, 8 hours is a long time to go without eating). Usually I just eat oatmeal because it's fast and cheap and filling and heart-healthy, according to the container.

If I have more time, I'll make scrambled eggs or something. But usually, it's oatmeal. And don't get me wrong, I legitimately love oatmeal and eat it happily. But sometimes I just need something different.

Enter my mother's new Ninja Blender. That thing is so wicked -- I'm talking perfect smoothies in 30 seconds and velvety soups in the blink of an eye. Short of magic or a $400 Vitamix, this thing is the tiiiiits.

Therefore, I make a lot of smoothies when I can't stomach the thought of another bowl of oatmeal. With some good protein powder and healthy ingredients, they're an equally satisfying start to my day. Plus, it's really easy to make them taste like junk food even when they're actually good for you.

Like this delicious mocha creation. With just a few simple ingredients, you have a very decent frappuchino rip-off. If it weren't so damn cold out, I'd add ice to it and make it really delicious.

As always, feel free to mess with this. I like my smoothies very liquidy and strong so there's a lot of instant coffee and nut milk in this. If you want to skew things more towards the chocolate route, be my guest. We all know I'm not one to say no to chocolate.

In any case, you get to have chocolate for breakfast. Take that, mom.

Ingredients:

1 scoop pure whey protein powder (I use vanilla but you can also use chocolate)

1 1/2 c. no sugar added soy or almond milk

2 tbs. instant coffee granules

1 tbs. unsweetened, high-quality cocoa powder

1 c. yogurt of any kind -- non dairy or regular, plain or flavored

1 c. ice (optional)

Directions:

1. Combine all ingredients in blender. Blend that ish. Scrape down walls of blender with a spatula if needed.

Featured Posts
bottom of page