top of page

Sesame Can I?


Although Ray-J's summer smash hit Sexy Can I was about an indescriminate booty-shaking female, I feel strongly that if the artist in question had tasted a different smash summer smash hit the song would have been a little bit different.

It probably would have made reference to the verdant color of the blanched green beans, or the subtle smokiness of the toasted sesame seeds or the punch of the rice wine vinegar.

As it stands, Ray-J missed the boat on this one. Maybe he got that fly honey to bump n grind up on him but I know for a fact he didn't get any of this fine salad. I know because I've been jealously guarding it since I made it last night.

It's really a testament of my love for all you readers that I'm going to share the recipe at all. It's too easy and too good to keep all to myself but it sort of feels like a toy I'm just not ready to share.

It's 15 minutes start to finish, keeps in the fridge and makes for a totally unexpected (and very welcome) side dish -- a nice break from creamy coleslaws and potato salads drowning in mayo.

If you don't already have sesame oil, let me pause briefly and ask you to reflect on this and any other serious culinary transgressions you might have made recently. SERIOUSLY GO BUY A BOTTLE OF THIS SHIZ. It's toasty and smoky and totally amps up your stir-fry game. I really don't know how you've lived without it. A little goes a long way though, so measure, people.

In unrelated news, my mom just bought me the Thug Kitchen cookbook and right now it is a serious struggle not to slip into my natural, profanity-laden writing voice. I should have been on that writing team. THERE IS NO JUSTICE IN THIS WORLD.

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 lb green beans, trimmed

1/8 c. dark sesame oil

3 tbs. rice wine vinegar

1/2 tsp. crushed red peppers

1 tbs. sesame seeds, toasted

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 tsp. kosher salt, or to taste

Directions:

1. Blanch the green beans in a large pot of boiling water for two minutes, or until they turn bright green. Remove immediately to a bowl of ice water.

2. Meanwhile, in a small non-stick skillet, toast the sesame seeds over medium heat until they are golden brown and fragrant.

3. Drain the green beans and remove to a large bowl. Drizzle with the oil and vinegar, toss to coat. Add the rest of the ingredients and stir again to distribute evenly. Chill. Keeps covered in the refrigerator for two days.

Featured Posts
bottom of page