top of page

She's My Pumpkin Pie


...hot drink of cider, such a sweet surprise, tastes so good make a grown man cry, sweet pumpkin pie YEAH!

So maybe I tweaked the lyrics just a little bit but honestly I felt that the song needed a seasonal update.

As many of you know, I love fall. I LOVE IT. I love the smell of leaves, the crispness in the air, pumpkin spice lattes (not. sorry.), apple picking, pumpkin carving and wearing UGGs. Also, look: if you hate on UGGs then you don't live somewhere cold enough to necessitate wearing them. Talk to me when you're waiting on a Chicago El platform at 8:30 am with no shelter from the biting winds or scraping two feet of snow off your car after work. Once you've experienced this particular brand of wintery hell you can hate on UGGs. Until then, shut your face.

Love of ugly footwear aside, another thing I love about fall is reworking classics. See previously: apple pie smoothie, pie crust cookies etc. Today is no different. Today I bring you the pumpkin spice smoothie. It's healthy enough that you don't have to feel guilty drinking it but so delicious that it will start your day off on a sinful note.

In this case, I highly recommend using vanilla greek yogurt if you've got it because it adds a little more depth of flavor but if you only have plain that's fine too. If you want to make this into a smoothie bowl, top with some vanilla granola and toasted pumpkin seeds. Maybe some sliced banana. Holy yum. I guess I know what I'm having for breakfast (again) tomorrow.

Happy Sunday, everyone. I hope you're snuggled under a couple fuzzy blankets to escape the awful grey misery outside. Just FYI, the first season of the Barefoot Contessa is on Netflix. Thank me later.

Ingredients:

1/2 c. pumpkin puree (NOT pumpkin pie filling or anything with additives)

1 c. unsweetened almond milk (or milk of your choice)

1/2 c. vanilla greek yogurt

3 tbs. dark maple syrup

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

Directions:

1. Combine all ingredients in blender. Blend well to combine.

Featured Posts
bottom of page