top of page

Salsa Conmango

If you speak Spanish, you might be wondering why there is such an obvious typo in the title of this post. If you speak Spanish and are a little bit punny, you might put together the idea that this is a salsa with mango in it. Instead of salsa conmigo (salsa with me), salsa conmango (salsa with mango). Get it, get it?

Okay, sorry. If you have to explain a joke typically it isn't funny but god forbid anyone think there is a glaring error on this blog. Similarly, god forbid anyone think that I am actually reading the advertised Kindle book that is the screensaver when the device is turned off. It's always some grocery store paperback with unsubtle cover art and a tagline like, "Lisa Frank is trying to avenge her baby sister's murder...but what she doesn't know may kill her." Hurl.

In any case, this salsa is a major nostalgia boost for me. Maybe because mangos are a summer fruit to me. Maybe because my friends and I eat mango salsa at the beach sometimes. Anyway, it was like 70 degrees here today and I had a mango that was sitting in my fruit bowl, calling to me to be made into salsa. So of course I obliged. This recipe is super duper easy, and only has 4 ingredients. This is one where you can FFTFW: chopped and seeded serrano chile, fresh cilantro or parsley, red onion instead of white...you get the idea.

Pair with: fish tacos (any firm-fleshed white fish will do), stone-ground tortilla chips or

mango salsa_edited.JPG

grilled skirt steak

Ingredients

1 ripe mango, peeled and cubed

1/4 small onion, roughly chopped

Juice of 1/2 lime

1/4 tsp. chili flakes

1. Mix all ingredients in a bowl. Let sit for at least 20 minutes to let all the flavors marry.

Serve with tortilla chips, over tacos or eat it plain with a spoon.

Featured Posts
bottom of page