top of page

Avocado Is the Name Of the Game

There's nothing more disgusting than an overripe avocado. Very little compares to the quintessential, acidic stench of an avocado that could have been SO GOOD just two days prior. Raise your hand if you have been personally victimized by an overripe avocado.

Last night, I saw there were two avocados in our fridge, already suspiciously squishy, completely untouched. I absolutely hate wasting food so I knew it was do or die: time to test out a recipe I had long been considering for vegan avocado pudding. I was nervous because I only recently tried a green smoothie and found it similar to what I assume mulch tastes like. I'm not as crunchy as I thought, it would seem.

However this recipe couldn't have turned out any better -- and it only took 5 minutes to throw together. This definitely isn't super sweet, but you can always change that. I like the bitterness of the cocoa powder to shine through. Speaking of which, use the highest-quality cocoa powder you can find; with so few ingredients you don't want to use the crap stuff (ahem, Hershey's) or it will be very obvious.

One final tip: this will have a better texture if you use your food processor, not a blender. You don't want it to be liquid and a blender is too high-powered for a delicate situation like this. I assume this won't last in the fridge longer than a few days, so eat up.

Ingredients:

1 ripe avocado

1 very ripe banana

3 tbs. good-quality cocoa powder

2 medjool dates

3 tbs. honey or to taste

Directions:

1. Combine all ingredients in a food processor. Blend until smooth and even, scraping down the sides if necessary. Chill before serving.

Featured Posts
bottom of page